29 Jun 2018
The island of Ireland welcomes the Duke and Duchess of Sussex
Following their trip to Belfast in March, the island of Ireland is now delighted to welcome the Duke and Duchess of Sussex to Dublin. Kensington Palace has said “They are looking forward to learning more about Ireland's history and experiencing its rich culture, as well as meeting the people who are shaping the country's future.”
Here’s a little more about what Their Royal Highnesses will experience in Dublin between July 10-11, 2018.
Croke Park – Home of the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA)
The state-of-the art stadium in Dublin’s Croke Park has been at the heart and soul of Irish sporting life for over 100 years. Croke Park is the Home of the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA), the organisation that looks after the official games of Gaelic football, hurling, handball and rounders.
To understand a bit more about Gaelic Games, sports writer Dean Goodison explains: “Players compete with non-stop-until-you-drop attitude. It’s a fast-paced, frantic kaleidoscope of action that will have you trying to look in several directions at once.” Add to this is the fact that all players are amateur – their dedication to the indigenous sports they play lies purely in pride for their town and County’s colours – during the week they’re a bank clerk, chef or even the local vet.
Their supporters don’t forget that, either, and always come armed with equal passion to games big and small, up and down the island – and when finals arrive, they descend on Croke Park in their 1000s. The legacy of the GAA, the people who have become heroes via their participation, the stories behind the sports and the skill it takes to play are all explored in the GAA Museum and revealed on the Stadium Tour.
Trinity College Dublin and the Book of Kells
Inside Trinity College Dublin’s old stone walls is a tranquil oasis at the heart of the city centre, with a mix of cobblestone courtyards, bright green lawns and playing fields overseeing an unspoken appreciation for the distinguished alumni who have graced these grounds over the centuries.
Dating back to 1592, the college boasts an impressive list, including Dracula author, Bram Stoker, Oscar Wilde and Jonathan Swift, creator of Gulliver’s Travels. The Front Square and Campanile capture most attention with their handsome elegance, however, the college also houses the modern Science Gallery, and the Douglas Hyde Gallery, with changing contemporary art exhibitions.
No visit to Trinity would be complete without a visit to the Book of Kells. Originating in a monastery on the isle of Iona, off the west coast of Scotland, in 806AD, marauding Vikings forced the monks to flee across the Irish Sea to a new monastery in Kells, County Meath, part of Ireland’s Ancient East. They took their precious manuscript with them before it was brought to Dublin and safe haven in Trinity College.
Carefully preserved over the centuries, the stunning Early Christian illuminated manuscript, which depicts the four gospels of the life of Jesus Christ in Latin, is located within Trinity College’s Old Library. This is the main chamber of the Long Room – one of Europe’s most magnificent libraries housing over 200,000 of Trinity’s oldest books. The Long Room also holds the 15th century Trinity College Harp made from oak and willow, and the last remaining copies of the 1916 Proclamation of the Irish Republic.
On Custom House Quay beside the River Liffey on Dublin’s northside is a haunting reminder of the Great Irish Famine (1845-1849). Crafted by Dublin sculptor Rowan Gillespie, the Famine Memorial was presented to the City of Dublin in 1997. Commemorating a period in Ireland’s history that saw approximately one million die and one million emigrate, the statues depict the dire sorrow felt by those whose only choice was to bid farewell to loved ones and home, most likely never to return again. As the population of Ireland fell at the time, Irish people settled across the globe into their new lives – it’s said the Irish diaspora now totals 70 million.
Epic, the Irish Emigration Museum
A short distance from the Famine Memorial are the the historic vaults of the CHQ Building at Custom House Quay, and EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. Delving into the past of Ireland's diaspora in brilliant interactive detail, the state-of-the-art visitor experience explores the inspiring journeys of over 10 million people who left Ireland's shores throughout history.
And for those who have come to Ireland to complete their journey home, The Irish Family History Centre allows access to valuable records, genealogy experts and online communities for people wishing to learn more about their Irish roots.
The CHQ Building was once a wine and tobacco warehouse during the 19th century and has been lovingly restored to something special within the city’s Docklands. Home to EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, the Irish Family History Centre, and a range of friendly cafés and bars, there’s also something more futuristic going on in DogPatch Labs.
Filled with energy, initiative and ambition, courtesy of some of the brightest minds in Ireland’s digital industry, DogPatch Labs is a network of offices, garden roof terraces and highly-specced vaults where people can gather together to share knowledge and connect with like-minded professionals.
Further media information:
Destination PR & Content Marketing
5th Floor, Bishops Square, Redmonds Hill,
Dublin 2, D02 TD99
Tel: 00 353 1 4763424
Notes to Editors:
Tourism Ireland is the organisation responsible for promoting the island of Ireland overseas as a leading holiday destination.
Tourism Ireland’s international website is www.ireland.com, 29 market sites available in 11 language versions around the world, which attracted around 19.3 million visitors in 2017.
Croke Park Stadium
EPIC Irish Emigration Museum, Dublin
Trinity College 'The Long Room'
EPIC Irish Emigration Museum